Mayabunder, Sept. 25: The election for the post of Adhyaksh and Up Adhyaksh for Zilla Parishad, North & Middle Andaman was held today. In the elections held, Shri Srinivasan, from Congress Party who stood as Independent Candidate against the Congress nominated Shri Anil Mondal candidate won the election for Adhyaksh, Zilla Parishad. The election for the Up Adhyaksh was also won by a Congressman Shri Sony Thomas who contested against the Congress Party nominated candidate Shri S Panchavarnam.

Among the 16 members of Zilla Parishad, N&M Andaman, 14 were from Congress Party, while 2 are from Trinamool Congress and 2 from Bharatiya Janata Party. Today’s election wherein the Congressmen contested against the party nominated candidates appears to be a big blow on the party.

It is also learnt the in the election of the Chairman, Port Blair Municipal Council held on 23rd Sept. 2013, which is again dominated by the Congress Councillors, the Party had proposed the name of Shri Nair. But the results of the election came as a major shock to the party after Shri K Ganeshan, a Congress Councillor won the election against the party’s desire.