Andaman Chronicle

The Daily Diary of the Islands

Top News

15th National Youth Parliament Competition held at JNRM

Port Blair, Nov. 12: The 15th National Youth Parliament Competition was organised in collaboration with the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, Govt. of India was held in JNRM today in the Auditorium. The programme was organised in collaboration with the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, Govt. of India. Around 55 students took part by performing the roles of Speaker, Prime Minister, Opposition Party leaders and Members of Parliament.

Topics discussed in the Youth Parliament competition was inflation, acid attack on women, environmental issues, impact of tsunami and cyclones in Andaman and Nicobar Islands were discussed in the session.  Dr Pawan Kumar Sharma, Dean, Student Welfare of Kurukshetra University and a nominee of Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs was the Chief Guest.

Addressing the students he congratulated them for taking keen interest in the national level competition. Dr N Francis Xavier, Principal, JNRM appreciated the debates and discussions and congratulated the students and organisers.  Ms Jochibed Vincent, Assistant Professor of ANCOL who was the jury member appreciated the efforts taken by the students. 

Earlier the coordinator of the programme Shri. K.Venkatesan, Assistant Professor and Head, Department of Home Science welcomed the gathering and Smt Nidhi Shekhawat, Assistant Professor of Home Science proposed vote of thanks. Smt Nitika Garhia, Resource Person, Department of Home Science moderated the entire programme. 

Out of 55 students 6 performers were adjudged as best performers. The first prize was won by Ms Priya Mondal of II B.Sc Home Science, IInd Prize by Ms Anisha Banu, IIIrd Prize by Mr S K Hasanoor of I B.A Political Science, IVth prize by Ms R.S.Reshma of I B.Sc Home Science, Vth Prize by Ms B Sunita of I M.Sc Geography and VIth prize by Ms.R.Nandhini of I M.Sc Computer Science.

  • Written by Denis Giles
  • Hits: 29