Port Blair, May 26: The 1st Atul Smrity Samity Open Chess Tournament 2023 was organised in connection with 77th Samity Foundation Day & Nazrul Jayantti by Atul Smrity Samity Port Blair in association with South Andaman District Chess Association (SADCA) under the aegis of Andaman Nicobar Chess Association(ANCA) on 25th May 2023 in the conference Hall of Bengali Club Port Blair.

Shri. Girish Kumar, SHO, Aberdeen was the chief guest for the inaugural ceremony who made the ceremonial first move on the top the board against Shrihaan Karmakar, a young budding chess player to kick start the event in presence of Shri. Amitabh Dutta, President, Atul Smrity Samity, Port Blair who graced the occasion as the guest of honour.

More than 140 chess players participated in the tournament enthusiastically in which A Chirag Kumar, a class VIII student of NCS Port Blair emerged as the winner of open category by scoring 6.5 points out of 7 rounds while Priyansu stood second, N Eswar Rao stood third, Shrihann karmakar stood fourth & Rohan Singh secured fifth position. Apart from open category, age-group category prizes were also given to different category players and their standings are as follows:

Under 07 Girls: D Charvi stood first, K Lakshitaa second & B Nishika, third.

Under 07 Boys: P Joshit stood first,  Tribarno Bhowmick second & Jayden Gomez third.

Under 09 Girls: B Mokshita stood first, Krishnapriya B Rajesh second & D Lalitya third.

Under 09 Boys: S Srinesh, stood first, T Nihanth second & S Jyosith third.

Under 11 Girls: S Varanya stood first, Sriya Raj second & AV Shreya third.

Under 11 Boys: J S Virat stood first, K Jaivardan Rao second & Jeet Ganguly third.

Under 13 Girls: Kavya Raj, stood first, Mageswari second & K Anushka third.

Under 13 Boys: R Tejass stood first, Galav Saha second & P Midhun vettaiayaar third.

Under 15 Girls: B Kavya stood first, AV Saranya second & S Vidhya third.

Under 15 Boys: Yuvan Singh stood first, M A Dinakar second while Jeet Raj Das third.

Under 17 Girls: M V Jaishree stood first while Anuva Mazumder stood second

Under 17 Boys: L Kalyan stood first, B Hair second while L Haresh stood third.

Best youngest Girl: T Rohita,

Best Youngest Boy: R Medanth

Best Bengali origin player (Male): Shrihaan Karmakar

Best Bengali origin player (Female): Anuva Mazumder.

All the winners were awarded with Trophies and Certificates. Apart from this, around 20 consolation prizes were also given to the best performing players among different categories.