Sujit of the Port Blair Team bags the Best Player Award, George of Nancowry Bags highest Scorer 


Car Nicobar, Oct. 16: The Car Nicobar team have won the 15th President of India Cup under 17 Boys Football Championship.

In the final match played today at the Bishop John Richardson Stadium, Car Nicobar, the team defeated Port Blair team by 6 goals. Though in the first half both the teams failed to score goal but in the second half Car Nicobar team made their approach little aggressive and went on scoring 6 goals in regular intervals. The Carnic boys succeeded in penetrating the stronger looking defense of Port Blair. The second half was totally dominated by the skilled boys of Car Nicobar and Port Blair team could not score a single goal. Earnest of the winner team made a hat-trick by scoring 3 goals consecutively.

The Winner team was felicitated with the cash prize of Rs 20,000. The runner team got the cash award of Rs 15,000/-.

Sujit of Port Blair team bagged the Best Player of the Tournament Trophy, and the award for the highest Scorer was given to George of Nancowry team. Shyam Lall of the Car Nicobar team was adjudged the Best Goal Keeper, Ravi Thapa of Port Blair was felicitated for scoring the fastest goal of the tournament and the Nancowry team was declared the Best Disciplined team of the Tournament.

The Chief Guest on the occasion, Dr. R. Devdas, Director of Education while giving away the prizes said that the players are very talented, and hopefully this time the Islands will have a much stronger team in the forthcoming SGFI National Football Championship. He lauded the efforts of the teams who have come from the far flung areas like Diglipur and Campbell bay and put up a good show. He said that the Sports and cultural events play important role in solidifying unity in diversity. Dr. Devdas said that he would take up the demand of the Tribal Council of conducting Girls Football Championship, to the higher authorities.

 The Guest of Honour, the Station Commander of Air Force Station at Car Nicobar, Captain Rohit Mahajan appreciated the efforts of the organizers for conducting the mega event so professionally.  

The Assistant Director of Sports, Netaji Stadium Dr. U.N. Choudhary, the AD (Sports) of Directorate of Education Mr. Ranjit Kumar were also present at the valedictory function.

Large number of football lovers turned up today to enjoy the final match.

A total of 9 teams from the different Educational zones participated in the Championship.