Defeats Education XI by 4-1 in the Final



Car Nicobar, Nov. 8: Car Nicobar-A team have won the 19th Vice President of India Championship today. In the final match played today at Bishop John Richardson Stadium it defeated Education XI by 4-1.

The winners used their experience against the young opponents and succeeded in scoring the goals in regular intervals. The Education XI fought back strongly in the second half but couldn’t penetrate the strong wall of senior defenders of the opposite team.

The crowd appreciated the effort of the young and inexperienced team of Education XI who entertained the football fans through their extra ordinary skills. Rufas, Lot, Roberto Baggio and James scored the goals for the winning team and the lonely goal from the Education XI came from Appolonius.

Distributing the prizes to the players, the Chief Guest Shri G. Theevanithi Dhas, Secretary (Education, Sports, Tribal Welfare) said that Nicobar is known for its love for Football, and this land has produced so many renowned players of National and International repute.

He hoped that some new talents might have made their presence felt in this Tournament, and they will bring laurels to the Islands at the National level in the coming years. Shri Dhas also felt the need of conducting specialized coaching camps at Nicobar so that the talent and skills of the young players could be polished. He applauded the organizers for successfully conducting this mega event so professionally.

Earlier the Chairman of the Organising Committee and the Deputy Commissioner of the Nicobar District Shri P. Jawahar welcoming the guests informed that the district administration is conducting many programs on regular basis to promote sports in the region. He said that 17 teams from the different Islands of the Territory came down here and participated with Sportsman spirit in this Prestigious Championship.

Expressing gratitude towards the guests and public, the Vice Chairman and the Education Officer Shri H. Nathaniel said that all the Government departments and Public sector enterprises extended their full cooperation to the organizing committee to make this mega Sports event successful.

The Organizing Committee felicitated the veteran footballer Shri Thompson Theophilus of big Lapathy Village for his outstanding contribution and achievement in the field of Football.

Following Individual prizes were given to the Players:

1)      Best Player of the Tournament: Titus of Carnic-A

2)      Highest Scorer: Roberto Baggio of the Carnic-A(15 goals)

3)      Fastest Goal: Mohd. Hanifa of Wimberlygunj team

4)      Young Promising Player: Russel of Education XI

5)      Best Goalkeeper: Soheb of Carnic-A