Car Nicobar, Nov. 7: The teams of Education XI and Car Nicobar - A will clash in the final of the 19th Vice President Cup Football Tournament at Bishop John Richardson Stadium, Car Nicobar tomorrow. In the first semi-final played today, Car Nicobar–A defeated the defending Champion Territorial Army.

The winners already had a game plan before the match and they executed it to perfection on the field. The defenders kept close check on the dangerous strikers of TA, and did not allow them to move further. The Carnic-A scored 4 goals consecutively in the first half and the crowd got stunned. The Carnic-A boys demonstrated the skills of ball passing and dribbling beautifully.

In the second half the Army came back strongly and scored a goal. They kept the control on the ball most of the time in this half but couldn’t succeed to score more goals. It was the wall of the defenders from Carnic-A which prevented them tactfully. Titus scored 3 goals alone for the winners.

There was big support from the Crowd for the Local School boys of Education XI, in the second semi-final. Having won the match comfortably against the strong team of Wimberlygunj in the Quarter final yesterday, the Education boys looked confident today on the field. On the other side the Katchal boys too looked very much capable of winning the match. The match was nicely poised, but the smart players of Education succeeded in taking the lead, scoring the first goal magnificently.

The Katchal team made several attempts but couldn’t convert them into goals. Meanwhile the Education XI scored another goal, and widened the margin. Football fans also witnessed some good saves by the Goal keeper of Katchal team. Large number of Sports loving people from the different villages of Car Nicobar turned up today to enjoy the crucial semi-finals of this mega Football Tournament.

The final match will be played at 2.30 PM tomorrow. The Secretary (Sports) Shri G. Thevaneethi Dhas will be the Chief Guest on this occasion and will give away the prizes. The Director Sports Shri Lucas Robert will be the guest of Honour.