Impressive March past and colourful Cultural Programme were special attractions of the Inaugural Ceremony


Car Nicobar, Oct. 29: The 19th Vice President Cup Football tournament began today at Car Nicobar. Impressive March past by the participating teams from different zones of the Islands and colourful cultural programmes by the school children were the special attractions.

Addressing the gathering the Chief Guest the Deputy Commissioner of the Nicobar District, Shri P. Jawahar said that Sports events are the best means to build up better understanding and relations among the youths living in separated geographical locations.  He congratulated the organizers for successfully conducting the mega football event of this large magnitude, at Nicobar for the last so many years. 

The vice chairman of the organizing committee and the district Education officer Shri H. Nathaniel, while welcoming the guests and players informed that, total 17 teams from the different parts of the Islands have come over here to participate in this Prestigious Soccer Championship. Teams from the defense establishments are also taking keen interest in the tournament, apart from the different sports Associations and Clubs.

In the Inaugural match, the Car Nicobar-B team defeated the team of Sports Authority of India by 4 goals. The looser team could not score a single goal.

The Chairman of the tribal council Shri Aberdeen Blair, the SP of Nicobar District Dr. B Srikant, the Director of Sports Shri Lucas Robert were the special guests in the inaugural ceremony. The Bishop John Richardson Stadium was packed up by thousands of football lovers who turned up today to witness the inaugural programmes and match. Every Evening Cultural programmes are presented by the youth associations of different villages at the stadium.

The Championship is jointly organized by the Nicobar District administration, Directorate of Education and Department of Sports.

Tomorrow’s Match Schedule

1.       Campbell Bay Vs Rangat                                6.00 AM

2.       Car Nicobar A vs Mayabunder                    7.30 AM

3.       Teressa vs Diglipur                                           01.45 PM

4.       Wimberlygunj vs Territorial Army             03.15 PM