Shore Point Youth Club Defeated Valluvar Nagar Xi By 3 Wickets


Port Blair, Dec. 31: Diwali 6 Wicket Knockout Cricket Tournament concluded last Sunday, 30th Dec, 2012. The tournament conducted by K Tulsi Babu, Ravi Kumar, S Murgan, Yadava Rao, John Kennedy and B Gopi was participated by 15 teams from Ferrargunj tehsil. The final match was played between Shore Point Youth Club (SPYC) and Valluvar Nagar XI at Shore Point.

Winning the toss, Valluvar Nagar XI chose to bat first and set a target of 36 runs from the allotted 6 overs which SPYC achieved with 3 wickets remaining and a ball to spare. Prabhakar SK of SPYC was declared Man of the Match for his winning knock of 19 runs and John Kennedy of SPYC was adjudged Player of the Tournament.

Senior players of Shore Point village distributed trophy to the winner and runner up teams.  Players of both the teams and match officials were also given individual medals for their contribution.

Earlier in the day, organizers felicitated senior players of Shore Point Village namely Debkumar Bhadra, Somen Talukdar, S Sada Siva and Jaganath. The gathering also observed two minutes silence in memory of Late Dr A Subramaniam, Editor Dawn Times and Late K Vasudev Rao, founder President of SPYC for their role in establishing SPYC.