BJP Emerges Single Largest Party with 11 Seats in Municipal Elections

Port Blair, Sept. 22: The counting of votes for PBMC & Panchayats started at around 08:00 am on 22nd September, 2015 amidst tight security arrangements in the presence of Contesting Candidates and their counting agents. The counting for PBMC and Port Blair Panchayats was conducted at Govt Girls Sr. Sec. School and JNRM respectively, while for other Panchayats, it was done simultaneously at respective Tehsils.

The Counting for Municipal Constituencies was completed by 03:00 pm. Out of 24, the Bharatiya Janata Party  won 11 seats, Indian National Congress won 6 seats, Telugu Desam Party bagged 2 Seats, while 1 seat each was bagged by DMK and AIADMK and 3 seats go to Independent candidates.


At the time of the reporting, the counting and compilation of results for Panchayats was going on. By the evening, the following results have been declared for constituencies of Port Blair Panchayat areas.



For the Zilla Parishad Constituency of Campbell Bay Shri. Gagan Deep Singh of INC defeated Shri. Sanjay Singh of BJP by 33 votes. For Laxmi Nagar Zilla Parishad Constituency Shri. Sandeep Kalyan of BJP defeated Shri. S. Ramesh of INC. For seats of Pradhan & Panchayat Samiti Members of Campbell Bay Tehsil, two seats each were bagged by BJP and one by INC.

The Counting have been conducted very smoothly under the close supervision and monitoring of Shri. Anand Prakash, IAS, Chief Secretary, Shri. N K Sharma, IAS, Home Secretary who is also Secretary (Panchayat & Municipal Elections) and Shri. Vijay Kumar Bhiduri, IAS, Director (Panchayat & Municipal Elections)/ Deputy Commissioner, South Andaman.  Secretary (Panchayat & Municipal Elections) and Director (Panchayat & Municipal Elections) kept the UT Election Commissioner, Raj Niwas and Chief Secretary apprised of counting of votes and the results of the Polling at regular intervals.

The Andaman & Nicobar Administration and Office of the Director, Panchayat & Municipal Elections express their gratitude to the citizens of Andaman & Nicobar Islands for enthusiastically taking part in the Elections and also to Contesting Candidates,  Political Parties and Media for their full cooperation & support in conduct of free, fair & peaceful elections. Polling & Counting staff apart from Senior Officers of Civil and Police Administration also deserve appreciation for their efforts in smooth conduct of election.