Port Blair, May 5: To mark the Diamond Jubilee Celebration (1951-2011) of Anthropological Survey of India (ASI), a seminar  on ‘Life, Livelihood Strategies and Technology Among the Hunter Gatherers’ and a Photographic Exhibition on ‘Island Cultures of India’ will be held at ASI Auditorium on 6th May 2013.

The Seminar and Photo Exhibition will be inaugurated by Shri Anand Prakash, IAS, Chief Secretary, A&N Administration as the chief guest at 11.00 am. Shri G. Theva Neethi Dhas, IAS, Secretary, Tribal Welfare, A&N Administration will be the guest of honour on the occasion. The programme will be chaired by Professor K.K. Mishra, Director ASI, Kolkata.

Port Blair, May 5: The Lt Governor, Lt Gen (Retd) Bhopinder Singh has sanctioned seventy five thousand rupees as ex-gratia relief from LG's Relief Fund to Shri Kangsha Dhali, R/o Badmashpahar, South Andaman for treatment of his daughter Kumari Nikita Dhali, aged 8 yrs, who sustained fracture of shaft of left femur and fracture left neck of Condyle and fracture Rt body of Mandible, in a road accident on 17th January 2013.

Considering the poor financial condition of Shri Kangsha Dhali and based on the report of Director (Health Services) and Deputy Commissioner (South Andaman), the Lt. Governor has sanctioned the relief amount.

Port Blair, May 5: A blood donation camp was organised by Victory Youth Club, Lall Barrack, Dairy Farm at Tiranga Park today wherein Shri Kuldeep Rai Sharma, President, PCC was the Chief Guest.  Sharma in his address on the occasion recorded his sincere thanks to the organizers for involving in social cause besides arranging various sports events for health, entertainment of the rural youths and housewives and children.

On the occasion, a good number of young boys and girls were refused from donating their blood due to their less weight. The camp was supervised by Dr.  Saina Mustakim while Smti Sunita Das, Sister and HK Rai, Counciller of GB Pand Hospital assisted the blood donation.

Among the others present on the occasion were PBMC Chairperson, Shri PB Murugan, Club's President Shri K Mohan Rao, Secretary S Rama Rao and John Robert Babu, President Youth Congress.