I extend my greetings and best wishes to the people of Andaman and Nicobar Islands for a happy, peaceful and prosperous New Year. 

I pray that the New Year will usher in peace, progress and prosperity in the life of our people. Let us work with renewed vigour and unity to take our Islands to new heights of development. I am confident that our people will wholeheartedly and collectively contribute for the all-round development of the Islands.

May Almighty God bless our people with prosperity, good health and happiness in the years to come.

Lt Gen (Retd) Bhopinder Singh

Lieutenant Governor

Andaman & Nicobar Islands

I extend my warm greetings and best wishes to you all for a Happy and prosperous New Year 2013. May the glow of joy, prosperity & happiness illuminate your days in the year ahead. 

P.B. Murugan

Chairperson, Municipal Council

Shri Bishnu Pada Ray, Member of Parliament has wished all the Islanders a Happy & Prosperous New Year 2013. 

Shore Point Youth Club Defeated Valluvar Nagar Xi By 3 Wickets


Port Blair, Dec. 31: Diwali 6 Wicket Knockout Cricket Tournament concluded last Sunday, 30th Dec, 2012. The tournament conducted by K Tulsi Babu, Ravi Kumar, S Murgan, Yadava Rao, John Kennedy and B Gopi was participated by 15 teams from Ferrargunj tehsil. The final match was played between Shore Point Youth Club (SPYC) and Valluvar Nagar XI at Shore Point.

Winning the toss, Valluvar Nagar XI chose to bat first and set a target of 36 runs from the allotted 6 overs which SPYC achieved with 3 wickets remaining and a ball to spare. Prabhakar SK of SPYC was declared Man of the Match for his winning knock of 19 runs and John Kennedy of SPYC was adjudged Player of the Tournament.

Senior players of Shore Point village distributed trophy to the winner and runner up teams.  Players of both the teams and match officials were also given individual medals for their contribution.

Earlier in the day, organizers felicitated senior players of Shore Point Village namely Debkumar Bhadra, Somen Talukdar, S Sada Siva and Jaganath. The gathering also observed two minutes silence in memory of Late Dr A Subramaniam, Editor Dawn Times and Late K Vasudev Rao, founder President of SPYC for their role in establishing SPYC.

Port Blair, Dec. 31: A MoU has been signed between A&N Administration and IIT Kharagpur for opening of Extension Centre of IIT Kharagpur at DR. BR Ambedkar Institute of Technology, Port Blair. The opening of Extension Centre shall open new avenues for technical education at Post-graduate level for the local engineers working in private industries and AICTE approved technical educational institutions.

M. Tech programme shall initially be offered in (1) Electrical Engineering, (2) Electronics & Communication Engineering, and (3) Information & Communication Technology. Each programme shall be for three years and lectures shall be delivered on holidays and beyond office hours through mixed mode of teaching i.e. VC & face-to-face interaction. The lectures, tutors and interactions will be recorded in the Extension Centre and will be stored at the Library of each Extension Centre. These will be available to the students for study during specified hours. Laboratory classes will be conducted at IIT Kharagpur campus at Kharagpur. Projects and supervisors will be assigned to the students by the Programme Coordinator after the completion of first three semesters. Students will carry out their project work at their institution and have to be in constant touch with their Supervisors. A&N Administration has already taken action to connect IIT Kharagpur with BRAIT through video conferencing by installing exclusive VSAT at Kharagpur.

For further information, may contact Training & Placement Officer, BRAIT Campus, Phone-03192-259693 Extn.-211, email id: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Port Blair, Dec. 31: A delegation consisting of Shri Bishnu Pada Ray, Member of Parliament, Shri Adinarayan, Pradhan, Shore Point and representatives of the ATI Mazdoor Sangh called upon the Lt. Governor and had a detailed discussion regarding non payment of dues pertaining to the employees of ATI, in presence of the Chief Secretary, A&N Administration today at Raj Niwas.

After a patient hearing, the Lt. Governor promised the delegation that Shri Khaitan, Owner of ATI Company will be called to the Islands by 20th January 2013 to discuss clearing of dues payable to the employees of the Company.



Port Blair, Dec. 31: The dusk of the passing by year has brought jubilations for the Sports loving Islanders. The uncertainty and the anxiety of the day turned into some delightful moments in the evening. The reason was obvious.

The Andaman Nicobar team has entered into the Quarter final, proving its abilities against the mighty opponents. Around three thousands football fans were waiting for the start of the most crucial match of the Island’s team at the FIFA ground in the JNRM Campus this afternoon. The Goa team utilized the Psychological advantage of being the defending Champion from the very first moment. They made several attempts but the excellent Goal keeping of Ambrose of the island’s team prevented Goa to succeed in their mission. The first half passed without any goals.

The Andaman team made a remarkable recovery in the second half and the strikers started developing attacks on the opponents. Captain Russel marshalled his strikers beautifully and some fine attacks were made. The outstanding dribbling skills of Apolonius and the strong defensive tactics of Rufas Freer were close to perfection and the crowd enjoying every bit of the game. The second half was dominated entirely by the Island’s team. Thousands of football fans stood up on their feet, the moment referee blew the last whistle. The match ended in a draw, and the Andaman team has qualified for the quarter final, with the advantage of having better goal average in the league round.

The other teams which qualified today for the quarter finals are Maharashtra, Kerala and Delhi. In the day’s first important match Maharashtra defeated Vidya Bharti by 5-0. Karan Chauhan scored 3 goals alone for the winners. In another match played at Netaji Stadium this afternoon, Kerala outplayed Madhya Pradesh by 3-0. Sujas scored 2 goals and Sujit scored one for Kerala. Delhi secured its berth in the quarter final, defeating Uttar Pradesh by solitary goal in the last league match of the 58th SGFI National School Football Championship.

Schedule of Quarter Final Matches


01/01/13    1.00 pm    RAJASTHAN    V/S    DELHI              Netaji Stadium

01/01/13    3.00 pm    PUNJAB    V/S    GUJURAT                      Netaji Stadium

01/01/13    5.00 pm    MAHARASHTRA    V/S    ODISHA            Netaji Stadium

01/01/13    2.30 pm    ANDAMAN & NICOBAR    V/S    KERALA  J N R M